How to add existing users to a paid account in the Zoom app
Your organization can purchase a Zoom account if you want to give your users access to more features as well as more licensing options. It’s possible that you’ll find some users in your company using Zoom with individual accounts within your organization if you haven’t already invited them to join your Zoom account. The best way to allow these users to use your account is to invite them to your organization’s parent account so they have access to all the associated benefits. People who spend a lot of money on subscriptions will get a refund based on the amount of time left on their subscription after accepting your invitation.
What are the requirements for adding users to a paid account?
- Administrator or owner access
- Paid Account
The process of adding users to a website
- Sign in to your Zoom account by clicking the link below.
- After clicking User Management, click Users.
- Then click Add User.
- You must enter details about the user or users. When you’re done, click Add User. In case users are invited to join your account, an email will be sent asking them to do so. On the User Management page, you can go to the Pending section and check if the invitation is still awaiting acceptance by clicking the Pending link.
- You must have an existing email address that can receive email from outside the organization.
- For more information on these specific requirements, see this article.
This is the best way to invite users
- If you are interested in a quick guide to help you get started with this process, there is an appendix at the bottom of this page.
- Before sending an invitation to an individual user, Zoom owners/admins strongly recommend contacting that user and letting them know what to expect and why they’re receiving an invitation.
- Therefore, you should be aware that if you invite individual licensed users to join your paid account as a basic user, they will lose access to the advanced features that were available to licensed users, including cloud recording and meeting lengths of more than 40 minutes. Licenses can later be assigned to basic users if needed.
- Single sign-on and associated domains functionality is also available to users when they are added.
- A credit confirmation email will be sent to you when an invited user’s prorated credit is transferred to your account. You can automatically apply this credit to future bills if your account is set up for automatic payment. It is possible to apply your net terms balance to an open invoice by contacting Billing by Chat if your account has net terms.
The process of a user accepting an invitation
- You will receive an email similar to this one when each new member is invited to your account:
- In order for the user to accept the invitation, he or she must click the hyperlink or paste it into a browser.
- Upon joining a paid account, the user can choose to receive a prorated refund for their paid subscription to their own payment method, or to transfer the prorated balance to the new account they are joining.
- It is not the pro rata credit or refund amount that shows on your account balance, it is the current amount in your account. There is no option to join another account if you have outstanding bills that need to be paid.
- After the above steps are completed, the user can log in as before by going to Zoom.us and navigating to the user account page. At this point, the user is a member of the account for which their organization is responsible.
- The refund will be sent to the original payment method if you selected this option. If you selected this option, the refund should appear on your original payment method within 3-5 business days.
- Unless you have already deleted, unlinked, or invited the other account owner to your account, it is unlikely that you will be able to accept the other account owner’s invitation due to error 1009. You may have deleted a Zoom Room that is required before accepting the invitation, or you may need to delete a Zoom Room on the Zoom Rooms page.
- If you choose to accept an invitation to create a new account for the first time in the future, if you requested cancellation of your account prior to accepting the invitation, you will be informed that you must remove the requirement before accepting the new invitation have . You can reactivate your plan by clicking the Reactivate button on the Billing page. If you successfully accept the new account invitation after your account has been reactivated, you will be credited with the unused portion of your plan and receive a prorated refund for the unused portion of your plan.
- After accepting the invitation and joining the account, the following information will be transferred to your account:
- Information about your profile (name, profile picture, time zone, etc.)
- When meetings and webinars are scheduled
- Records in the cloud
- Instant Messaging History
- for contacts
- in the settings
If your settings conflict with those of the account you’re joining or with those of the group, they can be changed. Since licenses such as large meetings or webinars cannot be transferred, an administrator of the new account should be able to assign them to the new account. Data from the reporting system is also not transmitted, so it is recommended that anyone who wishes to accept the account invitation download all required reports before accepting. Although the user’s IM message history will be transferred to the new account, it will not be available to the administrators of the new account, just as the history of IMs prior to the creation of the account will not be accessible to the administrator of the new account.
- You won’t get changes to meeting and webinar IDs if you create a vanity URL or log in with a different vanity URL than the one you’re using. The join links are updated to reflect the new vanity URL, resulting in attendees joining a meeting using an old vanity URL being notified that the meeting is no longer associated with the old vanity URL, resulting in may lead to further confusion. If you want to avoid this, you can resend registration confirmation emails and update the calendar events with the updated join URL, or email all guests about the update.