Requires use of the virtual background in the Zoom app
Account owners and admins can enable a group or account-level setting that requires users to have a virtual background when watching a video. The video will be disabled if the user’s system cannot support virtual backgrounds.
A virtual background can only be used if the following conditions are met:
- The virtual background must be compatible with the system requirements of the user’s computer
- Zoom requires the Zoom desktop application for Windows, macOS, or Linux with version 5.6.6 or later
- Video fails to launch for users with client version lower than 5.6.6
If you want to use the virtual background for all users in your account, please do the following:
- As an admin, you must log in to the Zoom web portal to edit your account settings.
- To do this, click Account Management in the navigation menu and then click Account Settings.
- The virtual background can be accessed from the In Meeting section of the Meeting tab after accessing it and verifying that it is enabled in the Advanced section.
Note: This setting is disabled by default, you must enable it by clicking the toggle. The change is verified by clicking Activate when a confirmation dialog appears.
- (Optional) If the user in question wants to make this setting mandatory for all users in their account, they should click the lock icon and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
- To commit the changes, select the Require users to use virtual background whenever possible check box, and then click Save.
Those who created Zoom accounts or activated the new admin experience after August 21, 2021 will see that the Group Management page has been renamed to Groups.
All members of a group must have a virtual background:
- Edit user groups in Zoom by logging in as an administrator.
- Click on User Management in the main navigation menu.
- You can access the meeting settings by clicking the group’s name and then clicking the Meeting tab.
- The Virtual Background option can be accessed under the Meeting tab. Make sure the setting is enabled.
- It is recommended that you go ahead and enable it if it is disabled. After clicking the Activate button, a message will appear confirming the change.
- This occurs when the setting is grayed out, meaning the account level is locked. To change this setting, you must go to the account level.
- Selecting the Block button and then clicking Block to confirm your decision is an optional step if you want all users in this group to have this setting mandatory.
- Make sure you check Users must always use virtual background, and then click Save to confirm the change.