Set up shared line groups in the Zoom app
Admins can share a phone number and extension with a group of users or public areas. Voicemail and shared line group extensions are available to all members. You can set routing rules for shared line groups and apply custom business hours, quiet hours, and holidays. Check out our comparison of call routing methods if you’re not sure if shared line groups suit your needs.
The following terms are used in this article:
- Your Zoom Phone admin adds members to the shared line group. Groups with shared lines can only have one member per group. Groups with shared lines do not have to be members of the same site when multiple sites are enabled.
- Shared lines share direct phone numbers among members of a shared line group.
When you set up a shared line group or change the settings of a deployed desk phone, it restarts multiple times.
The Zoom desktop client or mobile app or desk phone can be used to use shared line groups once they have been set up. Shared line groups can also be monitored and their settings changed. When setting up call monitoring, a conference bridge feature can be enabled, allowing members to participate in group calls over shared lines.
This article covers:
- Limitations of shared line groups
- calls and voice mail
- How to set up a shared line group
- How to add members
Requirements for setting up shared line groups
- There are three types of accounts available: Pro, Business, and Education
- Ownership or Management Rights of an Account
- License to Use Zoom Phone
- To be a member of a shared line group, the user or common area phone must have a Zoom Phone Metered, Unlimited, or Pro plan
Limitations of shared line groups
Please take a moment to consider the limitations of shared line groups before using them:
calls and voice mail
- A shared line group can have up to ten members.
- A shared line group can contain 0 to 10 phone numbers. These numbers can be used by all members of the group to make and receive calls.
- By default, it is possible to handle up to 4 calls simultaneously on a shared line group.
- When routing to voicemail, only the voicemail inbox of the shared group is available for routing to voicemail. To forward voicemail to another extension’s inbox, you must forward it to the extension’s voicemail inbox.
- When a call comes in to a shared line group, all members of the group ring at the same time.
- A phone user or a phone in a common area can be added as a member.
- There is no Calling Plan for a shared line group. Each member must be assigned a Calling Plan.
- By default, voicemail is accessible to any member of the shared line group.
- To access shared line group voicemail, common area phones must have the voicemail PIN.
- Shared line group membership requires Zoom Phone Metered, Unlimited, or Pro plan access.
- Shared-line groups cannot contain phones with common area phone licenses.
Check out the comparison of call routing methods if you’re not sure if shared line groups are right for you.
Shared line groups or call delegation facilities can be assigned to each member separately.
How to set up a shared line group
- You can access the Zoom web portal by logging in.
- You can access the shared lines from the navigation menu by clicking Phone System Management.
- Shared line groups can be found on the Groups tab.
- Add a new item.
- Here is the information you need to enter:
- Website (only visible if you have multiple websites):
- To create a shared line group, select a location.
- Members from other sites can be added.
- Display name:
- Groups with shared lines can be identified by their names.
- Description (optional):
- Groups with shared lines should have a description to make them easier to identify.
- extension number:
- An extension number can be assigned to a shared line group by entering it here.
- You can add members by following the steps in the next section.
How to add members
- Log in to the Zoom web portal by entering your username and password.
- From the navigation menu at the top of the page, click Phone System Management, and then click Shared Lines.
- Select the Shared Line Groups tab on the left side of the screen.
- Click on the name of the common line group that you want to join.
- Members can be viewed or edited in the members area. Click Add to add more members. Groups with shared lines do not have to belong to the same site when you enable multiple sites.
You can change the settings of a shared line group after it has been set up.